Skip navigation
wallmg35
Currently Being Moderated

Premiere Elements 7 crashes worse on faster computer

Mar 6, 2012 7:41 PM

Tags: #problem #premiere #crash #elements #7

I have been running Premiere Elements 7 for a few years with sketchy and slow, success on a straight Pentium 4 machine with about 1.2 GB of RAM. It would crash sometimes, and was really too slow to get any real work done, so I decided to install it on my once dedicated DAW, which has the following specs:

Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L MoBo; Q6600 processor; OCZ 4GB DDR2 800 RAM; Windows XP-32; Gina 3G soundcard; Asus EAH3450 graphics card (which is an ATI Radeon HD 3400 Series card) with 512MB Video RAM.

C drive is 75 GB WD Raptor. D drive is 600 GB drive.

On the faster computer, it's worse. It crashes all the time and the sound drops out ever few seconds.

I basically imported a photo into a new project and started getting "Running Low on Memory" messages, and then it crashed. In the lower left corner of the Premiere window, there was a Display Setting warning sign. So, going by what I found on the forum, I went into preferences and changed the Display setting to Standard (the second option). It was originally set on the first option.

I set my scratch disks on the larger drive, where my video elements also reside.

I set my virtual memory to be on this disc as well, at 8196 KB. Originally it was set at 8000 KB on Drive C.

I restarted and managed to get a video clip in there with a photo and did a couple of effects, then got the same low memory message. Also noticed that the Display Warning sign was in the corner as well. Whenever I try to play back something, the sound drops out every few seconds and comes back in.

This makes no sense to me.

The video was shot on a Sony Bloggie camera. Using GSpot, the video clip appears to be:

Video: Codec: avc1  /  Name: H.264/MPEG-4 AVC

Audio: Codec: mp4a: MPEG-4 AAC LC  /  Info: 48000Hz 128 kb/s tot, stereo (2/0)