Skip navigation
amtravco
Currently Being Moderated

Are version X annotations/markup 100% compatible with 9?

Mar 10, 2012 12:12 PM

Tags: #acrobat #9 #acrobat_x #acrobat_x_pro #commenting #shared_review

As a book author, I need to annotate pdf files and share them with others. "Annotate" means Sticky Notes, highlighting text, strikethroughs, etc. My publisher uses Acrobat 9.0, and they are worried that if I use X these annotations may not be compatible with 9. My editor wrote me,

"My concern may not be with the version of pdf, but with the

mark-up/commenting that is added when we mark changes - with [previous edition], the

comp claimed they kept missing corrections on PDF page proofs because they

had a different version of Acrobat and couldn't see them. The interface for

Acrobat X is different and I don't know if it has new or modified mark-up

tools, but my concern is that you mark something in Acrobat X and those of

us with Acrobat 9 can't see what you marked."

Is this really possible, or are X and 9 completely compatible in this regard? Is this simply a question of 9 and X both using PDF 1.7? Are these annotations part of the 1.7 spec, or are they some kind of add-on? Is there an official Adobe document about this that I could point my editor to?

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 10, 2012 12:35 PM   in reply to amtravco

Non-rich-media annotations created in Acrobat X will display perfectly in Acrobat/Reader 9 as there have been no changes to the ISO 32000  implementation for markup and comment annotations between those versions. They will be fine as far back as Acrobat/Reader 8 with the sole exception of HTML anchor tags within rich-formatted comment text (that feature arrived with Acrobat 9.1 via the PDF/1.7-EL5 extension).