Skip navigation
crazyche
Currently Being Moderated

Path does not exist

Nov 8, 2011 2:29 PM

Since friday my laptop started displaying the message "The specified path does not exist" whenenver I try to open any PDF in Acrobat Reader 9.0. I upgraded to 9.4, then upgraded again to 10.0. Finally I uninstalled all and downloaded a fresh 10.0, up to no avail. By the way, my OS is Windows XP. HELP! Im a teacher and need my classes desperately!

Replies
  • George Johnson
    11,676 posts
    Aug 11, 2002
    Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 8, 2011 6:32 PM   in reply to crazyche

Does this happen when you double-click a file or when you open Reader and select "File > Open", or both?

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Nov 9, 2011 8:34 PM   in reply to crazyche

Not sure what is causing this; if that happened to me, I would try a System Restore to a date before the problem started.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 9, 2011 8:35 PM   in reply to crazyche

P.S. when doing a System Restore, you may need to reinstall programs you have installed since that System Restore Point.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 11, 2011 8:04 PM   in reply to crazyche

What could be causing this - a broken shortcut?

Do you get the same message when opening Adobe Reader directly from C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader (by double-clicking AcroRd32.exe)?

Can you post a screenshot of that message?

If the error also occurs when opening AcroRd32.exe directly, then you may need to watch what's going on with something like Process Monitor.

|
    Mark as:
    Nov 12, 2011 5:01 PM   in reply to crazyche

Basically you run Process Monitor, then start the faulty application and watch what it is doing.

There is a filtering capability, but since we don't know what is causing the error, we don't know what to filter.

Unfiltered, the output can be huge, but I don't see any other way of diagnosing what is causing that error.