Skip navigation

Adobe latest FreeHand MX upgrade, Would you pay?

Apr 19, 2008 11:26 AM

Latest reply: Kaiser Chow, Oct 6, 2013 7:09 AM
Replies 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 12, 2012 10:16 AM   in reply to tmagames

I think the issue is beyond import/export functionality, but how FH was "sunseted", user interface, and workflow.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 12, 2012 10:24 AM   in reply to david_imanaka

Do not take me wrong  I have been using Freehand since v1 in 1998 and I am sad to see it go.

But, personally, I just want to be able to open my old documents, and have software that had an interface like Freehand, the new Illustrator in "like Freehand" mode works like that.

In fact, as I mention earlier, it is like Freehand would be if it had been allowed to evolve.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 7:24 AM   in reply to tmagames

tmagames,

How do I enable this "like Freehand" mode of which you speak? I have Illustrator CS3 (Mac) at work, and Illustrator CS5 (Windows) at home, and can't see such a feature in either of them.

Thanks!

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 7:36 AM   in reply to Cygnify

When you have CS5 open up at the top right, to the left of the search maginifying glass there is a drop down menu (it is long since I changed this but I think the default says "automation") in this drop down menu is the option "Like Freehand"

Let me know how you get on, there are a couple of quirks/changes but if you think of it as a freehand upgrade these are no more than expected. Trust me I have used Freehand from vs 1 and I find this very acceptable.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 7:45 AM   in reply to tmagames

Thanks for the very quick response!

Just tried it. Looks good, but does it affect anything other than the panel arrangement?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 8:00 AM   in reply to Cygnify

The main thing is try opening a really old Freehand file! (open from within illustrator)

|
    Mark as: