Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Fireworks just screwed me!!!!

Mar 15, 2012 3:05 PM

I have been working on a layered png file of a site for the past two days. Today I just went to "save as" for the last time with a new version. I got an error that said "Fireworks can not save the document. An error occured."

So then I tried saving to a different location. Again the same error. Hmm this is strange. Mind you the file has been opened and closed and saved every 10 minutes for the last two days. Finally I just saved and it seemed to work. I closed the document and went to make sure that it was still there and POOF it is gone.

Searched my entire drive. No luck!!

I have been a designer working in adobe product for 10 years and never, never have I been screwed like this. How can an application actually delete the file that was already saved in the file system?

I don't understand at all how this has happened.

By the way this is Fireworks 4 and all I can say is this has to be the buggiest version of Fireworks I have ever worked in. Usually I just ignore the bugs but this is pretty hard to ignore.

Anyone have any suggestions on how to recover this file? Pretty sure it is gone.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 16, 2012 1:46 AM   in reply to jkinsman

This used to happen to me a lot too with CS4.

I believe it is fixed/correct in either an update or with CS5.

Unfortunately, I believe your file is gone. Like any software, files are saved from memory, with memory issues, file gets corrupted or not saved, or similar.

So the best way you can deal with this, is to get backup in the future.

The bug made me change my workflow and it is something I suggest you do for the future:

• Each workday/major change to design, save the file as a new file, name it with a different date, so it is easier to find. I usually name them like this in a project folder: name_numberdateyear.png