Skip navigation
leukelovell
Currently Being Moderated

Streaming video link to play inside PDF

Mar 15, 2012 10:30 AM

Tags: #acrobat #x #video #pro #links #streaming #rtmp #streaming_video

I'm not having any success placing a .mp4 streaming video link in Acrobat Pro X that will play inside (not embedded) the PDF. My client has provided me with a couple of links, and the video tool field accepts it, but nothing plays. I can download and embed the actual file from my desktop fine. Being a long time print designer, this is my first attempt to create an ebook with video from an existing print project - so i have limited understanding of formats, server behavior, and such. Can anyone help me?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 16, 2012 12:42 AM   in reply to leukelovell

Flash Player (which runs the video tool in Acrobat) will play streaming content only if it's being delivered from Adobe Flash Media Server (i.e. using the rtmp or rtmpe protocols). As you can 'download' the file it cannot be a stream, so I assume it's a regular web URL using http. These are supported provided the URL ends in '.mp4' and it doesn't require authentication - but without knowing the file details I can't say why it's not working in your case.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 16, 2012 5:18 PM   in reply to leukelovell

The http link is working in theory, but as you aren't streaming, it sits there forever while you download the file before starting playback (and I suspect the http server is throttling the data).

With the FMS stream you're almost there but you're hitting a bug in the shipping version of the video player widget, plus the very obscure way we write Adobe Flash Media Server addresses.

First, grab a copy of our free updated widget, and follow the instructions to switch out the default swf file.

Now enter this into the URL field when you create a new Video annotation in Acrobat:

rtmp://yourserver.url/foldername/mp4:ebooks/gedc__000122.mp4