Skip navigation
Prodigy9
Currently Being Moderated

I need help with a Canon EF/EF-S Lens Purchase...

Mar 16, 2012 8:24 AM

Hi all...

I don't know where else to post this question since this isn't really a Photography forum but rather a Lr4 forum.  But I'm still very new to Digital SLR camera's and need some help.

I currently have a Canon T3 w/ the 18-55 Kit lens.  I'd like to take photos of Landscapes, mountains and waterfalls, etc...  But at the same time I need the ability to take photos up to or around 6" away from objects.  All the different numbers on the lenses are confusing the heck out of me and I was wondering if there would be any advice anyone could give me on a good Canon lens or two which will get me where I want to be.  I want to take close-ups and distant/wide shots.  Lenses certainly aren't cheap so I want to make the right decision.

I just recently purchased a book by David Busch on the T3 and it's capabilities but I still have a way to go before I finish the book. 

Can anyone offer some advice or insight into the importance of using the right lens or even a recommendation of a Canon lens?

Thanks!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 16, 2012 9:14 AM   in reply to Prodigy9

If you want to go cheap, buy the Kenko extension tube set, and use them on your 18-55.  This will perform surprisingly well.

If you want to go expensive, buy the Canon 100L macro.

There are intermediates between these two.

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 16, 2012 10:45 AM   in reply to Prodigy9

The 50/1.8 won't get you any more macro performance than the kit lens.

Realize that extension tubes have no glass in them at all, and no electronics either.  They're basically just spacers with contacts to connect the electronics through them.  I've had two sets of Kenkos for years without any issues at all, having used them on lenses from the 35/2 (tiny like the 50/1.8) up through the 70-200/2.8L IS and 100-400L.

|
    Mark as: