Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Video rendering is extremely slow

Mar 20, 2012 6:14 AM

Hello,

I'm using Adobe Premiere Pro CS4 v4.2.1 (I can't use CS5 because I have a 32-bit system). I'm running it on HP Pavilion dv9750, 2.2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo processor T7500, 2GB RAM (DDR2) and NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS.

I first edit my clip with Windows Live Movie Maker 2011 (Build 15.4.3538.0513) (about 4 minutes length, including videos, photos and audio), and exported it into a 1080p WMV file. The total file size was 350mb, and the rendering took about 10 minutes.

Then I used Premiere because I needed to add a photo as a watermark to certain scenes, and I couldn't do it with WLMM. Since I'm new at working with Premiere, I created a new project, imported the WMV and the photo, added the photo to the "video 2" channel (the actual clip is in "video 1" channel), resized it, placed it at the correct location, and set the length as I needed.

Then I wanted to render my project, so I clicked on export >> media >> and changed the format into H.264. Then I clicked OK, and Adobe Media Encoder CS4 opened. I clicked "start queue", and it started rendering for whole 9 hours! Eventually the file output was 104mb, with black bars (something was wrong the the proportions I guess), and the quality was lower than the original file, even though the preset was AVC-I 50 1080p25.

I'm planning to create other projects, but how do I avoid these problems, especially the long rendering time? I think it's an absurd that it takes to render a file with better quality in just 10 minutes with WVMM compared to 9 hours with Premiere.

Thank you for your help in advance!

Tom

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 20, 2012 10:22 AM   in reply to Tomchook

|
    Mark as:
    Mar 20, 2012 10:44 AM   in reply to Tomchook

Note... rendering is when you press the enter key to render the video on the timeline for viewing... exporting is what you do to create a new file