Skip navigation
alijbrown
Currently Being Moderated

Previewing SWF content in local server

Mar 26, 2012 3:37 AM

Tags: #cs5 #flash #content #dreamweaver #swf #xml #preview_in_local_server

Hello All

I am new to developing with dreamweaver CS5 - and website development in general.  I have compiled two swf slideshow / galleries in Flash Professional and wish to insert both into separate pages on my website.  Both swf files are xml based (and so load in content dynamically).  Both swf files work when tested as stand alone elements on my local computer.

The swf components are stored in their own folder ("Banner" and "Gallery") - together with all assets associated with that component.  Both component folders have been copied to my root directory for the purposes of developing and testing my website.

The swf files have been inserted fine into webpages.  The problem arises when I preview the page in browser (local server set up for php): the preloader in each swf becomes visible (and so the swf clearly begins to "play") however the content does not load.

I've read something about having to insert a "Mark of the Web" in html.  I've tried to insert this manually, but it has not made a difference.

Does anyone know what I may have missed?

I am only testing locally at the moment.  If it would be useful to see the site (thereby requiring an upload of the site) would someone be kind enough to talk me through what I would need to do to let you guys see it. Total newbee - sorry.

Cheers,

Alistair

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 26, 2012 7:51 AM   in reply to alijbrown

The swf components are stored in their own folder ("Banner" and "Gallery") - together with all assets associated with that component.  Both component folders have been copied to my root directory for the purposes of developing and testing my website.