Skip navigation
Velzz
Currently Being Moderated

Noob here seeking help to make sure audio for my film is mastered properly

Mar 27, 2012 12:44 PM

I learn through diving into things, watching and discussing and I'm at the point of worrying about audio and was hoping someone can fill me in on proper steps to take.

I am cutting together a 25 minute film on premiere CS5.5 and of course I have Audition. I have many many audio clips as you can imagine. I am wondering the basic process as to what steps I should take to make sure this sounds as good as possible. I have read some tutorials on Audition but honestly don't know enough on the concept of sound to understand if the steps shown in any of the tutorials pertain to my specific case.

I basically want all the volume levels to be standardized across the board. I know this can be done in Audition, and would love if someone could give a step by step as to how to properly do this. I suppose I am shooting for the standard -6 max peak, but again don't know which options to select in the process to make sure this is properly set. I'm not even sure how to properly select which clips I want the effect applied to... I attempted to do a volume match in some clips in Audition, but I did it by hilighting the clips with the mouse by dragging over them in the timeline, and I think though that the volume matching popup window was instead asking me to find these clips over in the Files window to the left. I pressed batch process and it defniitely processed SOMETHING though i'm not sure what. I hope that the program truly doesnt need for me to physically click on the files in the window to the left and will accept what is just hilighted as this would be a nightmare trying to sort through hundreds of clips.

I also don't know how to make the clips youre editing in Audition apply the changes to the Premiere timeline when working with dynamic linnk. Do I just save?