Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Should I wait for Lightroom?

Apr 1, 2012 4:26 PM

Hello, I am not very technical, but enjoy taking photos, and editing them - I have been using Nikon Capture nx2, and thought I had decided to change to Lightroom - that is until I spent many hours on the internet reading about the problems with Lightroom 4. I just wonder if it is usual to have these problems when there is a software upgrade, or should I be worried, and for those who may have experienced this sort of thing how long might it take before I can buy L4 safe in the knowledge that a)my photos will be safe and b)I can just use it.

It just seems to be that some people on this forum appear to have more interest in problem solving for Adobde than taking photos, editing them and having a

life - or am I being unfair? It just seems that, as far as this forum is concerned, I am in the minority, but I think not. Surely this forum should be about how to get the best out of Lightroom to make better photos - and not about doing something Adobe should be sorting out.

I am also looking to buy NIK plugins, but an email I sent to them 2 weeks ago is still unanswered.

I am about to change from a laptop pc to an imac, and spend more money on software - I do not earn a huge wage, so this is a big expense and I therefore expect a product that works. Adobe is a big software company, so I expected more from them, but they worry me now.

So, my big questions are a) should I wait  b) how long should I be expected to wait  and c) should I play safe and just buy Aperture?

Sorry to sound negative, but what if you bought a tv/washing machine etc. that didn't work.

I'm just putting my oar in for all the non-technical people out there who just want a workable product, and are scared stiff that they will end end with something that takes more than they are capable of to get working, before thet even start on learning how the software works

Many thanks

Replies