Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

27 inch iMac for editing and After Effects

Apr 4, 2012 4:32 PM

Hey everyone. I'm a student who does heavy video and After Effects work. Right now my core 2 duo macbook pro is not cutting it when it comes to performance and render times.

Luckily, my budget is around $2200-2300 thanks to money I should have leftover from my college fund (thank you, mom and dad).

I was looking at the MacBook Pro 15 inch until I discovered the 27 inch imacs that are in the library multimedia center. The screen size is great because there's so much space to work with and details come out a lot clearer.

But from a hardware and price perspective, the 27inch imac with a quad core 3.1 ghz intel core i7, 1 tb hdd, and a 2gb AMD Radeon HD 6970m is around $100 LESS than the MacBook Pro with a quad core 2.4 ghz, 750 gb 5400 rpm, and 1 gb 6770m.

The only tradeoff is portability, but given the difference in spec, i'm starting to say its worth it.

I know that a lot of AE is dependant on CPU and lots of RAM per CPU. Upgrading to 16 gb of ram is getting cheaper and cheaper (it also helps that the imac has 4 ram slots). The iMac can actually support 32 gb of ram, so when that becomes available that is another nice plus.

So just doing the math, with 16 gb of ram that would be a 3.1 ghz quad core intel i7 with 4 gb of ram per core. 8gb of ram when upgraded to 32 gb of memory.

I'm not sure what Apple is gonna do with the next iMac refresh, so I will probably wait until then to make a decision.

Does anyone have experience with AE on the 27 inch iMac with similar specs?

Many thanks,

Dan.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 4, 2012 4:45 PM   in reply to dh91

Several other drawbacks to the iMac or any other all-in-one computer system: