Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Color densitometer or info palette when editing colors?!?

Apr 4, 2012 10:35 PM

I am new to Premiere Pro, so forgive me if I have overlooked the obvious, but I can't find any sort of info palette that displays color info when using color correction tools within Premiere Pro. I have searched this forum and the Adobe Help info, but haven't found any info.

Considering that Premiere Pro has such powerful color capabilities, I would expect there is a way to measure changes being made. Coming from a Photoshop background, I rely on the densitometer and info palette for accuracy and repeatability. Although Premiere Pro's video scopes display a lot of info (I wish Photoshop had these!), they are not very precise tools. Having a way to measure actual color values would seem critical when matching color between two different pieces of footage.

One option I found is to use the "Leave Color" color correction tool's eye dropper to select a color, and then view the color values by clicking on the sampled color swatch. This opens up the familiar color dialog box with all sorts of handy color info. If Adobe could include that, why didn't they include a simple densitometer (eye dropper tool) and an info palette that displays color reading?

If such features exist, I hope someone will point them out to me. If they exist in a third party color editing plug-in for Premiere Pro, that would be a very compelling reason to buy it. Any suggestions on this would be most appreciated.

cheers,

Dave

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 5, 2012 8:02 AM   in reply to davidp158