Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Which tools or tutorials do you recommend for this?

Apr 6, 2012 10:44 AM

Hi.Black dog final  email.jpg

Complete novice & on CS5.

Dangerous combination!

I need to add some 20% extra sky on top of an image to balance the shot.

Nothing in the sky as such but different tonal range as you go noth as it should get darker, but I am having problems blending the copied sky above and in some way blending it well.

I had considered a grad filter, though, again, I'd need to watch a tutorial 1st!

I did say I was a novice.

I copied the sky up by adding 20% move canvass, clicking on the area which became a boxed in with marching ants with the Magic Wand thingy and copying the sky via the Clone Stamp tool.

It did not look right at all.

Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 6, 2012 12:06 PM   in reply to pat agonia

You might be able to get away with stretching the sky, adding a gradient overlay adjustment layer with foreground to transparent

with reverse, some cloning and adding some noise with the filter>add noise (gaussian-monochromatic) on a new layer set to softlight and filled with a neutral background color.

(set your toolbox colors to default by pressing D before add the gradient layer)

Untitled-2.png

Untitled-1.jpg

|
    Mark as:
  • Trevor Dennis
    5,829 posts
    May 24, 2010
    Apr 7, 2012 3:08 AM   in reply to pat agonia

I don't know, but would guess at:

• Extend canvas vertically
    • Use the rectangle Marquee tool to select that bit of sky above the oblisque
    • Feather the selection (how much depends on image pixel size)
    • Use Free Transform to stretch the selection to fit the expanded canvas.

• Personally I would select the oblisque and copy it to a new layer (Ctrl Cmd j)
    • Create a new layer between the background and oblisque layers
    • sample foreground colour from near the horizon, and background colour from the top of the sky