Skip navigation
realmisr
Currently Being Moderated

Photoshop Color Settings for Wide Gamut Monitor

Apr 7, 2012 6:12 AM

Hey guys,

I have a wide gamut monitor (HP LP2475w) which has already been calibrated. My question isn't so much about that, but the settings I should be using inside of Photoshop (CS5). As far as color settings (ctrl+shift+k) goes, what am I supposed to use? I have sRGB as the rgb working space right now. (never use CMYK), Gray % Spot = dot gain 20%, and preserve profiles are ticked on for all 3. Am I supposed to be using Adobe RGB in RGB working space to get the most out of my monitor? I'm asking because it would be embarrassing if I had a wide gamut monitor and am working within a sRGB color cap. Please enlighten me with the proper photoshop color settings, so that it works well across the board (browser compatibility, etc)

As a FYI, I am a professional digital artist who specialize in illustrations for print campaigns. So far from what I've seen, whatever's been printed out of what I produce from this monitor has come out pretty much looking the same, so I'm not worried about that. Again, I just want to make sure I'm not careless and am using settings which doesn't make use of a wide gamut monitor.

Thanks for your input in advance!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 7, 2012 7:41 AM   in reply to realmisr

Unlike standard gamut monitors you will be able to see 30-40% wider color range by using the entire color space of your monitor which is closer to Adobe RGB color space. What color space you choose to use depends on how your images will be used. Images can be converted to their closest match from one color space to another. Converting from narrower to wider color space can give exact match but doesn't take advantage of the additional colors available. Converting from wider to narrower color space can not exactly match colors outside of the narrower space  but will get the best possible colors available.