Skip navigation
Matthew.Fry
Currently Being Moderated

RE: FindChangesByList questions

Apr 6, 2012 12:48 PM

I work for a daily newspaper and I am fairly new to the world of InDesign javascripting. I have been making the most of modifying FindChangesByList.jsx and the support file FindChangeList.txt to format articles and sports agate. I am using InDesign CS5.

I have a couple of questions and would appreciate any assistance:

1. AppliedParagraphStyle question

How do you refer to a paragraph style when it is in a Style Group folder?

2. Grep question

A. I am trying to get FindChangeList to look for a reporter's name, which is at the beginning of the article and is two upper case words followed by a comma.

I've tried the following - grep     {findWhat:"\u+ \u+[,]"} - but it doesn't seem to work.

B. Once I find the reporter's name, I would like to add the word "By" in front of the name and remove the comma. I am at a lose how to do this.

3. I am also looking for a way to find a reporter's name (which is at the beginning of the article) and then add that reporter's contact information at the end of the article. I am not sure this can be done with FindChangeByList.

4. Last question: What book or guide would you commend for someone just learning javascripting in InDesign?

Thanks in advance.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 6, 2012 3:42 PM   in reply to Matthew.Fry

I'm not a javascripter, but I can answer most of your questions....

1. There isn't an example in the sample text file, but someone posted the answer in a thread that came up as related to this one. This is how you'd do it for a para style called "Blue" in a style group called "Colors":

appliedParagraphStyle:app.activeDocument.paragraphStyleGroups.item("Co lors").paragraphStyles.item("Blue")