Skip navigation
OpheliaPDX
Currently Being Moderated

Are there any scripts to change all Caps locked items to bold?

Apr 9, 2012 1:25 PM

I'm new to this program...like, 5 minutes in to using it. I make typesetted catalogs, where there are 850 or so "lots," that all have Caps locked titles. These titles also have to be in all bold. Is there any easy to take my existing text, & make it bold (like a Find/Change)?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 9, 2012 2:13 PM   in reply to OpheliaPDX

Find/Replace can accomplish this.

Being new to the software, you need to determine some things first. Is there a style which has invoked the all Caps? You would edit that style to globally change to Bold.

Insert your curser into the text in question. Open at the Character Styles and Paragraph Style Panels; are there useful styles other than Basic?

If not, you should create a Style for Bold. Open the Find/Replace. Leave the find field blank; lower in the dialog click on the Find Format, click the icon to bring up the attributes. Plunk through the options, how your text is formatted (Styles or local over-rides) dictate what to select in this Find Format.

Click the Replace Format icon below the Find. Set the Bold Style.

Replace All.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 9, 2012 2:18 PM   in reply to OpheliaPDX

I presume you mean the text was typed in with the caps lock key on so it is all uppercase. There are a number of ways to do this, but which to use depends on waht you have. Do these headings have a style assigned to them? They should, and if they do all you need to do is edit the style definition to use Bold. If not you can do it with Find/Change and GREP, but we need to know if there is any punctuation and whether there is any other text inthe same paragraph, or if the titles stand alone. A screen capture would help, (and take it with non-printing characters visible, please). You can embed it in a post using the camera icon on the web page like this:

CameraIcon.png

|