Skip navigation
PauletteP2
Currently Being Moderated

Planning Ahead for Using Boilerplates

Apr 9, 2012 2:09 PM

Tags: #proposals #boilerplate

Hi all,

I work as an RFP Response writer, creating proposals for companies seeking our products. What happens is that we get a Request for Proposal (RFP), which usually has requirements including questions to answer. There are also pages I use in nearly every proposal, including product description pages, executive profiles and a cover page. These mostly stay the same but need to be customized for each customer. What I'm thinking is that I will create Masters for each page I might use (one for each product they might want, company description, cover page). Then when I get a new RFP, I'll copy the main file, delete the masters I'm not going to need and tweak the masters I will need.

I'm noticing my file is getting quite large though and I'm wondering if this is the best way. I want to be a smart designer, but I have no experience so I could use all the advice I can get.

THANKS!!!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2012 3:11 AM   in reply to PauletteP2

Pehaps a folder (or folders) of snippets (and a snippet can be an entire page of objects) would be easier to manage. You could just drag the the ones you need out of Bridge or Mini-Bridge onto your pages, then edit as necessary.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 3:35 AM   in reply to PauletteP2

You can also try "Template" , prepare the template and then use it depending on your RFP , esay to maintain and customizable as well.

|
    Mark as:
  • John Hawkinson
    5,572 posts
    Jun 25, 2009
    Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2012 5:34 AM   in reply to PauletteP2

What I'm thinking is that I will create Masters for each page I might use (one for each product they might want, company description, cover page). Then when I get a new RFP, I'll copy the main file, delete the masters I'm not going to need and tweak the masters I will need.