Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Indesign CS5.5 crashing when opening files even idml

Apr 9, 2012 2:09 PM

Tags: #cs5.5 #crash #indesign

I've been working with files created by another user. I have exported to idml file then saved as indd. It still is crashing. I've installed the lastest updates and according the crash report http://pastebin.com/5SVUfNsU it's saying something about plugins... unfortunately I have now idea about plugins. I've tried to reset preferences and can't find any folders mentioned from another report (common crash issues)

It has also crashed when tryin to export either idml or indd files to pdf.

I'm not an "avid" used of indesign. I'm just learning so I really need some guidance.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2012 3:16 AM   in reply to kestabrooks

Your crash report looks to me like it is related to optical kerning, but it also mentions preflight. Try turning off Live Preflight and see if that helps.

Are you able to open InDesign without a crash, and to open or create other files, or does ID immediately crash now on opening or crash on any file you try to work with?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 6:54 AM   in reply to kestabrooks

That means most likely it is trying to open a file that is corrupt in the recovery folder. You should empty, move or rename the InDesign Recovery folder in your user library and try again.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 8:59 AM   in reply to kestabrooks

Have you disabled the "Live preflight' , before opening the file.....as I  believe crash log is similar to the older one.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 9:14 AM   in reply to kestabrooks

It does seem to still be crashing on optical kerning. You might want to turn that off and see if it helps. Are you able to use optical kernin on a brand new file?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 9:29 AM   in reply to kestabrooks