Skip navigation
michaelyszjuer
Currently Being Moderated

My illustrator 5.1 opens svg file as blank, anyone has same problem before?

Apr 10, 2012 4:09 AM

Tags: #illustrator #cs5 #error #adobe

Hi,

I try to open this svg file as attached, which is one of my circuit class design. It will be good to open it in illustrator and do some modification, however, I could open the file with firefox and chrome, but my illustrator 5.1 opens it as blank page. Anyone has the same issue before, or it is just some basic setting problems?

I am a new user of Illustrator, try to catch up a lot of things.

Thanks for your help~

Michael

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 10, 2012 4:29 AM   in reply to michaelyszjuer

Is it possible to share the file...

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 5:02 AM   in reply to michaelyszjuer

Can you please how you have created this SVG , it says <!-- Generator: cds2svg.il  --> , what is cds2svg .

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 7:28 AM   in reply to michaelyszjuer

Even InkScape hates that file.

I was successful in getting it into Illustrator via a circuitous route. But for something like this, I would simply redraw it. While the text is editable, each bit of text is broken into one to three character lengths.

If you want it in AI format, I'll upload it. But overall, I would recommend just redoing it.

Take care, Mike

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 9:11 AM   in reply to MW Design

Just to know ..mike ...my we know what was the circuitous route you tried top open the file in the Illustrator

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 9:29 AM   in reply to michaelyszjuer

I managed to open the image in illustrator by doing the following trick:

- Open the file in Chrome

- Print to "Adobe PDF"

- Open the PDF file in Illustrator

It may not be exactly what you wanted but it is at least a workaround :-P

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 10, 2012 9:32 AM   in reply to Manish-Sharma