Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

WHY DON'T YOU AT LEAST IMPROVE THOSE BRUSH STROKES?!

Mar 23, 2012 3:59 AM

Tags: #photoshop #brush #fail #failure #brushes #strokes #ergonomics

I'm a professional digital artist-illustrator for about 7 years now. using photoshop since early years of my career. CS2, CS4, CS5.. on more than several mashines, top line HP workstations and EliteBook.

and one thing that bothers me and most of my colleagues is the quality of the brush strokes that PS provides.

why don't you improve em for christsake?!?

I must admit, this is a software issue, not mashine. neither the resolution, some options or tablet series has anything to do with this.. and it's especially visible on thicker strokes.

we work on intuos3, intuos4, intuos5, apple, win and whatnot. ant it's most obvious that the brush lines are as ugly as hell in this program entirely through all series.

when it comes to non-vector lineart, thats' basically why most of the artists/designers go for other progams, such as paint tool sai, sketchbook pro, manga studio and etc, and do the effects/coloring only in PS.

here's an ex. how the brush lines end. + if you work slower/move your pen more precise they go even worse!

ps_vs_oth.jpg

I won't go further, like talking about the LAG with mixer brtushes and etc. most of the CG forums and communities are allready full of those discussions. you cannot even compete on this issue with other products.

that might be also a solution to rise your sales around the globe. cos now - why to buy a <1200$ worth PS program in europe when you'll probably end up mainly using paint tool sai or sketchbook pro for around 90$ and go for GIMP (free software) for effects.

(...)

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Mar 23, 2012 6:11 AM   in reply to PAUZAK