Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Basic Pen Tool Question

Apr 18, 2012 12:41 AM

I am VERY new to the Pen tool. at.pngAfter creating a path with the Pen tool, such as the one in the attached image, how can I go back and adjust the end of the path in the lower right corner? It is currently curling up, how can I adjust the curve of it, or maybe shorten the length of the path at this side?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 18, 2012 1:11 AM   in reply to media kat

You can adjust the curves by dragging on the handles. If you want to do this without leaving the Pen tool (P), select the Direct Selection tool (A) before you use the Pen.

That way you can hop to (A) by holding down the Command/Control (Mac/Windows) key whilst using ther pen.

Paths can also be adjusted by dragging on a path segment. This will keep the angles of the handles unchanged.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 2:32 AM   in reply to media kat

kat,

In addition to what Steve said, you can effortlessly switch back and forth between adjusting the Handles (angles/lengths) and the position of the current Anchor Point with the Spacebar, which lets you drag the Anchor Point by the Handle.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 4:39 AM   in reply to Jacob Bugge

Spacebar? Is this a Windows thing?

On a Mac it's the Command key that does what you describe. Space bar just calls up the Hand tool.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 4:51 AM   in reply to Steve Fairbairn

On the Mac it's the space bar as well that lets you (temporarily) move an anchor point while dragging a handle with the Selection tool or Direct Selection tool.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 5:38 AM   in reply to Kurt Gold