Skip navigation
NewbieTechWriter
Currently Being Moderated

FM 10 Crashing when applying conditional text tag

Apr 18, 2012 10:15 AM

Tags: #framemaker #crashing #framemaker_10 #conditional_text

Hello everyone.

For some reason, FM keeps crashing when I try to apply a conditional text tag to a table (entire table). The funny thing is I have been doing this same thing for three months now with no problems before today, even have two tables in the same document with different tags applied to them and they are working fine.  But when I try to add this one, I crash. I have rebooted my computer and made sure all my drivers are up to date, but now I'm at a loss.  Any help?

Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 18, 2012 10:24 AM   in reply to NewbieTechWriter

Hi Newbie,

Which version of Framemaker you have?

Sometime what happens is the conditional text tag is corrupted and in that situations we delete and make a new conditional tag with the same formatting,however with a new name and than apply it.

If it still does not work,you can copy the complete document in a new document,keep both the document open,click on file-->import-->formats and copy all the formats from the old document to the new document and then apply the tag.

That should make it work.

Thanks

Harpreet.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 10:38 AM   in reply to NewbieTechWriter

Newbie,

I dont think you will loose somethig as it only imports all the formats,we can atleast try with only one document and test it if that works.

Also try and update the Framemaker 10,it thats not updated.

Thanks

Harpreet.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 10:38 AM   in reply to NewbieTechWriter

have you tried MIF-washing your doc?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 10:56 AM   in reply to NewbieTechWriter

Newbie,

If you still have some issue,you can call us on 800-833-6687 and choose framemaker .

Thanks Harpreet.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 11:28 AM   in reply to NewbieTechWriter

Hi Newbie,