Skip navigation
cheekbones1
Currently Being Moderated

Spry menu bar stuck as unordered list

Apr 17, 2012 8:43 AM

Tags: #spry #menu #bar #list #unordered

I'm completely new to Dreamweaver and am trying to use it to update an existing website.  I exported the website files back onto my PC.

When I open a page in DW to edit it, the Spry menu bar (which works with horizontal drop down on the website) shows as an unordered list.  If I preview it, the list remains, i.e. the menu bar doesn't re-appear.

If I click the 'turn styles off/on' button, nothing happens.

I would be extremely grateful for any advice as to what I can do in order to get the page to open in DW with the menu bar functioning.

Many thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 17, 2012 9:16 AM   in reply to cheekbones1

Hi,

it sounds like your DW doesn't find the files situated in the "SpryAssets" directory. Please control your pathes. If there is a deeper nested directory or a file you need these ../ or ../../.

If not, please load up your website onto your server, no matter how it looks like and give us the link to it.

Hans-Günter

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 17, 2012 10:48 AM   in reply to cheekbones1

Hello cheekbones,

here my "cookbook". First open one of your files, and jump to the place where you want to insert a spry menu.

drSpryInsert.jpg

next step select the layout:

drSprySelect.jpg

If you had used a new DW file as I did for this example, your source code would like this:

drSprySourcecode.jpg

The two files, which you need, takes DW of itself and expects that your files are stored in a folder "SpryAssets". If DW does not find them it will ask you for them.

Good luck!

Hans-Günter

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 17, 2012 11:22 AM   in reply to cheekbones1

Hi,

here it's now time to look after my family (blue hour), some hours before we have to go to bed.Also dann bis morgen!

Hans-Günter

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 18, 2012 2:22 AM   in reply to cheekbones1

Hi cheekbones,