Skip navigation
Richard_M_1999
Currently Being Moderated

Dumb newbie color question.

Apr 19, 2012 8:42 AM

Tags: #photoshop_cs4_windows #canon_pro9000_mkii #color_balance

I have Photoshop CS4 64-bit running under Windows 7.  I recently bought a Canon Pro9000 MkII printer, and I got a pack of Canon Fine Art Museum Etching paper.  I followed the printing instructions described here to produce my first prints.  The Canon print driver includes an option to "preview" the image prior to committing it to (expensive) paper.  On the "preview" image, the color balance is waaay different to what I see on my Dell 22" (cheap) flat-screen monitor when editing the image in Photoshop.  The color balance on the subsequent printed image is closer to what I see on the preview image than when editing the image in Photoshop.  How do I address this?  I am a TOTAL dumb newbie, and I need somebody to answer this in words of one syllable....

Thanks in advance!...

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 19, 2012 8:46 AM   in reply to Richard_M_1999

Your screen may not be calibrated so what you see is not what you get.

You can buy a screen calibration device.  At the minimium look on the web for color checkers and see what you colors look like with these programs.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 19, 2012 9:40 AM   in reply to Richard_M_1999

Have you used the preview on printer for other printing?  If so how does it compare to preview or to PS?

Do you have the box checked to allow PS to set color or printer to set color?

Being thrifty, I would do the same paper setup with cheap paper and see what it looks like with a test print.  That way you can see what to believe.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 19, 2012 9:46 AM   in reply to Richard_M_1999

EveryOtherScreenNameIsTak wrote:

I thought about that.  But (1) if the screen calibration was the problem, then wouldn't the "print preview" image would look the same as the image in Photoshop?