Skip navigation
Josh525
Currently Being Moderated

Logo Design - A few unknown steps

Apr 20, 2012 4:54 PM

Hi, I am brand new to Illustrator. I have created the following image and want to apply a few more steps.

I want to do the following:

• Batch process the segments to round off all of their corners evenly
  • Create a gradient that brings colour creaping in from round the edges (the standard radial gradient I have tried seems to not take into consideration the shape/size of each segment & therefore does not create the desired effect)
  • Be able to change the color of each segment whilst keeping the current gradient setting
  • Create a coloring pencil effect in each individual segment

Can anyone offer advise on how I might achieve these steps?

Many thanks in advance for your answers,

Josh

Picture 63.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 20, 2012 5:06 PM   in reply to Josh525

• Effect > Stylize > Round Corners

• Use Gradient Meshes

• Live Color (Edit > Edit Colors > Recolor Artwork)

• Effect > Stylize > Scribble

Way to complicated for a logo in my opinion.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 21, 2012 2:30 AM   in reply to Josh525

On Number 3, If you change your gradient to shades of gray you could then add a new Live Fill over the Gradient and set the Blending Mode to Color.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 21, 2012 3:08 PM   in reply to Josh525

Uhm.. reread my post. The path is right there.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 21, 2012 3:38 PM   in reply to Josh525

I cant see where the edit option is to change the gradient to shades of grey. Can you point me in the right direction?

I just want the segment to change colour but keep its gradient - I though I would just be able to drop another color on it!

Not sure if this is the best way to do it but, select your objects and from the EDIT MENU choose EDIT COLORS/CONVERT TO GRAYSCALE.

This way you keep just the luminance from your gradients.