Skip navigation
Home Power
Currently Being Moderated

How to get PDFs to Reader X on an iPad3

Apr 20, 2012 12:20 PM

Tags: #mobile #transfer #acrobat_x

Hi All,

I have been tasked with publishing our magazine to PDF for mobile devices. We've been publishing on paper for over 25 years, and to PDF for electronic archives (DVD) and digital subscriptions (web download) for over 15 years. So I was psyched to learn that Reader X Mobile has been released, seemingly making our transition to mobile devices relatively seamless. I'm the owner of a new iPad3 and since iPads are such a fast growning percentage of the mobile device market, I figured that would be the best place to start testing compatability and delivery of our products to all mobile devices. Though I have close to 25 years working in the Mac OS, I'm very new to the tablet concept and am struggling with my inability to manage my own file naming and storage structure on the iPad. I'm sure (I hope) that some of my questions below will be answered simply by learning to use this nifty new etch-a-sketch properly...so don't be shy about hitting me with "duh" answers. However, some of my confusions sure have me baffeled. I'm hoping that you guys can help.

First, I"m having trouble even getting the PDFs to the iPad in the first place. At 30 - 45 MB, they are too large to email to myself (or so it seems). Is this an iPad Mail setting? I can receive some pretty large attachments on my desktop machine. For testing, I have tried sending myself smaller PDF files but have failed with those too.

If I "attach" the document to email, it arrives with a download box (file "down-arrow" icon, and the file name in blue) but tapping it has no effect...nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?