Skip navigation
alexpio
Currently Being Moderated

What setting is stopping me from entering text on a layer?

Apr 22, 2012 5:33 PM

I've been adding text to layers for a few months with no problem.  Now every time I use the text tool all I get is a 'dot' with a line that extends as I type.  It does create a layer and the layer is named by whatever I typed but there isn't anything there.  I've tried the 'find' and it didn't find anything.  I've gotten the outline to show, but it's empty.  I also found a similar question and the response was that the font size might be too small to see.  I have a 25 inch background and set the font to 72 but still nothing.   Since I haven't had this problem until now it seems like something is just set wrong -- but what?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 22, 2012 6:02 PM   in reply to alexpio

I'd try resetting the Type Tool by right clicking on the big T and choosing Reset Tool.

Untitled-1.png

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 22, 2012 6:44 PM   in reply to alexpio

Make sure the type is not the same color as the background.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 22, 2012 7:33 PM   in reply to alexpio

Also, make sure the resolution of your image isn't ridiculously low.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2012 12:10 AM   in reply to alexpio

Good advice already, but maybe posting a screenshot with the relevant Panels and the Options Bar visible might help?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2012 6:23 AM   in reply to alexpio

What resolution?

Is the foreground color black?

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2012 6:49 AM   in reply to alexpio

To post a screenshot:  Make a screen save (if Win7 use Sniping tool in Accessory) then save to a location.

Then when posting click the camera icon and browse to you file location.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 23, 2012 10:16 AM   in reply to Curt Y

A 25 INCH background using 72 (px I'm assuming) font?

Your solution has already been suggested above (by several people). This HAS to do with your document dimensions.