Skip navigation
mrfearn
Currently Being Moderated

Circle of dotted circles help.

Apr 26, 2012 5:29 AM

I want to create a circle of circles like this , it's the first image, black and whie circles with numbers inside. - I don't want the numbers, just the dots.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&client=safari&gl=uk&biw=320&bih=3 56&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=circle+of+dots+illustrator&oq=circle+of+dots%2C+ill u&aq=0S&aqi=g-S1g-mS1&aql=&gs_nf=1&gs_l=mobile-gws-serp.1.0.0i24j0i5i2 4.7760.10169.0.11599.6.5.0.0.0.0.718.1578.3-1j0j1j1.3.0.&mvs=0#i=0

Starting at 1 dot increasing by 6 every time and evenly spaced.  So would start at 1, then 6,12,18,24,30 etc to create a dotted circle if circles.  I'm new to illustrator and can't find any info how to do it, here is a link to an example - its the first image, black and white dots with numbers in, I don't want the numbers, just the dots.  Thanks

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 26, 2012 5:40 AM   in reply to mrfearn

Your image link doesn't work - just goes to google-uk.  Is this what you are looking for?

Picture 2.png

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 26, 2012 7:36 AM   in reply to mrfearn

I was able to make something similar using blends and a bit of trial and error.

Picture 3.png

For the innermost circle, I made a blend between two identical dots, with 5 steps, then replaced the spine with a circle that had one cut. (the cut makes the two end dots land on top of each other).

Copy this, and paste it in front. Then select just the spine and enlarge it from the center, playing with the size until it looks right. (select the spine, and not the whole blend, or the dots will enlarge also).

Then select this blend and change the steps to 11. Continue in this manner until you have the pattern the size you want it.

There may be a way to script this, or a shortcut to do it faster, but maybe this will get you started.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 26, 2012 8:19 AM   in reply to mrfearn

Here's another way.