Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Colors change when exporting to jpg file

Apr 26, 2012 10:49 AM

I'm a web designer and use Fireworks CS5 extensively. In the last week, I've had 2 artists indicate that an exported jpg image that I created for their websites does not look the same as the original. In one case, aqua colors were darkened to a grey/blue. In another case, the exported image just looks darker than the original. In both cases, I started with a jpg file that the artist sent me.

I've tried eliminating the compression by setting it to 100. I've tried using the export wizard, the regular export function, and the save as function. In the export wizard, I've unchecked the Sharpen Color Edges and Remove Unused Colors checkboxes. The created images all look the same yet different than the originals. As an expeiment, I created new jpg images using Paint Shop Pro and the exported file looks exactly like the original.

Any help would be appreciated.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 26, 2012 1:53 PM   in reply to Mitch Man

Are they viewing them in a browser? Some web browsers are not very good at displaying true colours of photographic because they do not read the ICC colour profiles that are embedded in then. If the images are being processed in Photoshop, make sure the artists are using the sRGB color space rather than Adobe RGB, and that they are not embedding color profiles.

|
    Mark as:
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 26, 2012 4:59 PM   in reply to Mitch Man