Skip navigation
DavidGaryEsp
Currently Being Moderated

Iris (Portal) Transition: Feathered (Soft): How?

Jan 1, 2012 5:55 PM

Hi, I'm new to Adobe Premiere, and want to make an opening-iris transition with feathered (extremely soft) edges, adjusted interactively. That is, not something that looks like a camera iris, but rather a plain portal opening progressively wider from one clip transitioning to another.  The given Iris Transition in Premiere has several settings but appears not to have any setting for feathering/softness, (other than anti-alias, which is nowhere near as soft as I need).   I'm looking for e.g. feathering over 50-100 pixels radius and interactive adjustment of centre position.

What is the best way of achieving that in Premiere?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jan 1, 2012 6:14 PM   in reply to DavidGaryEsp

Challenging question.

I think that is beyond the scope of Premiere and more like an After Effects, "effect build".

If it were possible to apply Blur FX to a  transition in Premiere...it may have been easier.

You could animate a graphic file (eg psd)  and add a blur maybe

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 2, 2012 1:59 AM   in reply to DavidGaryEsp

Have a look at SpiceMASTER Video Transitions & Effects | Pixelan Software

They offer all kinds of feathered irises, fully adjustable for a nice price.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 2, 2012 3:10 AM   in reply to DavidGaryEsp

Try the circle effect.

|
    Mark as:
    Jan 2, 2012 2:00 PM   in reply to DavidGaryEsp

Superimpose two clips for the duration of the transition.

Add circle effect to clip in track two (see screendump)

Set keyframe beginning to 0 and end to max expand.

iris circle effect.png

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 30, 2012 3:29 AM   in reply to shooternz