Skip navigation
Crackermd
Currently Being Moderated

Fast CPU

Apr 29, 2012 3:04 PM

Xeon E5-2687W or 2600k or Core i7-3960X? Performance worth the price ?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Apr 29, 2012 3:19 PM   in reply to Crackermd

It depends what your work flow is. For many folks the 2687W is over kill and not the best bang for your buck. But if you do a lot of Red / Epic work those dual xeons do the heavy lifting you may need. You pay dearly for the technology though.. Here is the system I am buying. As a 30 year veteren I know what kind of demands clients will make of me and my system.

Screen Shot 2012-04-27 at 4.46.22 PM.png

This doesnt include the cost of a Kona 3 card and a very fast raid system I am repurposing from my Mac Pro.

Its above $10,000. Carefully evaluate your needs. The other systems probably are around half the cost. 

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 29, 2012 4:32 PM   in reply to Crackermd

Sorry, Im an editor not a computer builder    The above computer is being built by ADK.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 29, 2012 11:14 PM   in reply to Crackermd

This is somewhat akin to:

I want to buy a used car with two wheels only. I don't want more wheels. Any to recommend? Oh, I already ordered the gas.

Good luck with that approach.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 30, 2012 9:52 AM   in reply to Crackermd

Unfortunately, you will have to go with the P9X79 WS if you want a single-socket Asus LGA 2011 motherboard that supports any of the Xeon E5 CPUs. None of the other X79 mobos from Asus support any Xeons at all.

Also, keep in mind that all of the Xeons are permanently locked to their stock speeds (multiplier-wise); therefore, you can only overclock them via the BCLK (and then, there is no guarantee at all whatsoever that the CPUs will even run stably at the higher BCLKs). Because of this, a stock E5-2687 actually performs slower than an overclocked i7-3930K or i7-3960X.

|
    Mark as:
    Apr 30, 2012 10:04 AM   in reply to Crackermd