Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Why do my pictures "look bad" on different computers?

May 10, 2012 5:46 AM

I don’t know if this is something I can fix by adjusting my Lightroom workflow or not, so I figured I would ask.  I apologize is this post is off topic.

I notice this issue the most when I shoot a wedding, as the contrast between dresses and tuxedos can provide some challenges when squeezing the most tonal range out of an image.  (Not sure if that makes sense – I am no expert).  After I shoot an event, I’ll spend a few hours processing the RAW images. Fine tuning the saturation, WP/BP, and adding in some very subtle vignette effects to make the centre subjects pop out. I do all my work on a Power MAC running 10.7 with the older 23” cinema displays.  After that, I’ll upload the final set to my iPad and take a break so I don’t go bug-eyed.  I’ll do a final review on the iPad, making sure things look how I want them to, and then upload the images to my website using one of the standard web publishing plug-ins that come with Lightroom.

Now, I wish at this point my work was done, but no such luck.  When I go to view the same images that looked so great on my Mac and iPad on my wife’s Dell laptop, they look absolutely horrendous.  The brides dress is blown out in parts, the subtle vignette that I had given to some of the more intimate photos is basically gone, the tuxes are over exposed, there’s no depth or “soul” to any of the colors, and the white balance is off.