Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

dreamweaver and drupal?

May 10, 2012 12:08 PM

hi,

Are the tools in drupal so adequate that I would not have a need to use dreamweaver in conjunction?

also, as I am completely new to this - do people seek out drupal developers to create a customized interactive experience based upon their needs?

is that the way it works?

Or is the drupal download easy enough to work with so as to pull modules from a community based library and plug into the site?

And, if it is typical for companies to hire a developer to get the site up and running, can a company then take the site + host on their own server or is it common practice for the developer to keep control and put on his own design company's server?

Looking for general industry advice with regards to Drupal. - I'm getting the impression that is is very much like WordPress, just far more sophisticated?!

Thank you.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 10, 2012 12:16 PM   in reply to r_tist

Are the tools in drupal so adequate that I would not have a need to use dreamweaver in conjunction?

No.  Install Drupal on a local test server and you will see how Drupal works.  Content is in the CMS, everything else is code.  Dreamweaver can help you modifiy your skin or create templates with code hinting, but it's designed as a professional tool to work with code.

do people seek out drupal developers to create a customized interactive experience based upon their needs?

Yes people do seek outside developers for help depending on the customization and their level of expertise.

Or is the drupal download easy enough to work with so as to pull modules from a community based library and plug into the site?

With Drupal 7 and moving forward, installing community plugins are easy, but depending on your needs you may need a custom developer.