Skip navigation
wayneg2012
Currently Being Moderated

How create a single path to type on, not compound path from many paths?

May 11, 2012 9:34 PM

Tags: #paths #compound #shape

Hi,

I am a bit new to illustrator, but I am having trouble figuring this one out.

I have some negative space I created(black area, see image) that I want to fill with type, not just a simple fill.

Basically I want to create the negative space from a bunch of small minus signs(-) that need to line up as they go across. If I type on each path one at a time as the text doesn't line up that way. This needs to be one continuous path.

Unfortunately if I add them together, it creates a compound path, which you cannot type on, unless I am mistaken? So I need them to be a path, not a compound object.

Hopefully that made sense, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

negative.jpg

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 11, 2012 10:24 PM   in reply to wayneg2012

You should read about the appearance panel which will give you  lot of freedom and expand ypur abilities to do things seem like impossible.

Here is a video o how to do this, keep in mind if you wish to add text or remove text the the black background will expand or contract accordingly, all you have to do is type as long as the type size and font are the same.

You can do it with different fonts as well but you will have to adjust the font size baseline shift etc o make them match but it can be done.

here's the video

http://www.wadezimmerman.com/videos/NegativeType.mov

|
    Mark as:
    May 11, 2012 10:55 PM   in reply to Wade_Zimmerman

So with a little adjustments you get this you get this…I use a square character from wingdings and made it a smaller size then the other characters then a baseline shift sufficient to line up with the triangle shape opening in the A and then kerne it serverly so it overlapped that triangle shape but you can just place a white filled path over it and group it with the text.