Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Lightroom 4 and Creative Cloud

May 12, 2012 10:54 AM

I have a subscription to Creative Cloud and 20 days left on my Lightroom 4 trial. If the trial period expires before Lightroom is added to Creative Cloud, do I have to purchase it?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 12, 2012 11:03 AM   in reply to markallison

LR4 is not a part of the Creative Cloud subscription.

http://www.adobe.com/products/creativecloud/buying-guide.html

Yes, you will have to purchase LR separately to continue using the product after the trial period.

|
    Mark as:
    May 12, 2012 11:45 AM   in reply to markallison

If you do purchase Lightroom and find out soon after that it becomes available as part of Creative Cloud, you can get a refund. (Our standard return policy is 30 days.)

|
    Mark as:
    May 13, 2012 2:10 PM   in reply to Carey Burgess

Here's the thing... I have a purchased copy of LR3... I am currently using the trial of LR4.  I'm not going to spend money on the LR4 upgrade if I'm already spending money on the cloud, especially if I know I'll get LR4 eventually.  Getting a refund does not help at all... it's a gamble.. maybe it will come out in 30 days maybe not.   Adobe needs to either allow cloud customers to continue to run on the LR4 trial until the software is available in the cloud or they need to profide a definitive date as to when they will release it to the cloud. 

I am really impressed with the new LR4 and will be sad if I have to go back to LR3 for an extended period of time. 

|
    Mark as:
    May 13, 2012 2:28 PM   in reply to LSpeak

LSpeak wrote:

Adobe needs to either allow cloud customers to continue to run on the LR4 trial until the software is available in the cloud or they need to profide a definitive date as to when they will release it to the cloud.

Agreed.

This "will-they-won't-they-include-it-let's-buy-it-now-and-hope-for-a-refu nd-later" nonsense is odd from Adobe.