Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Multicam making un-intended cuts

Oct 13, 2010 5:18 PM

Hi.

I'm a FCP editor switching to CS5.  I use a lot of multicam in FC, and am trying to get my head around it in premiere.

I'm editing a two camera multicam.  I start on camera 1, I hit record, then hit play.  As I play I'll cut to camera 2, then back to camera 1, then camera 2. If it stop playback whilst on camera 2, Premiere makes another final cut back to camera 1.  If I stop playback on camera 1, then it does not make this cut.

I didn't want to cut back to camera 1, which is why when I stopped playback, I was one camera 2.  Is this me not understanding how multicam works, or is it a feature or bug?

Cheers

Jacob.

Replies 1 2 Previous Next
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Oct 13, 2010 5:34 PM   in reply to Jacob Dyer

<sigh>

Yeah, I know what you mean. It's actually not a feature or a bug; let's be diplomatic and call it a quirk.

What Premiere is doing is returning to the camera angle that was live when you first started your last round of multicamera edits. So, in your case, you're probably starting your edits on camera 1; when you hit stop, it returns to camera 1. If you had four camera angles, and you started on camera 4, did some editing, and then stopped, it would go back to camera 4, regardless of the last angle you were on before you stopped.

Premiere is making all those edits sort of retroactively, I guess. Your starting angle is always the "live one," and it's not until you switch to a different angle that the previous angle gets cemented in place. When you stop, you add an edit, and whatever angle that was live before the stop is cemented in, but since you started on something else, it's that angle the follows the edit.