Skip navigation
robandyk
Currently Being Moderated

Page overlap when exporting to pages in InDesign CS6.

May 19, 2012 5:58 AM

Tags: #indesign #overlap #cs6 #page #middle

Hey community,

for a college project I am creating a little a5 sketch book, I have everything finished, but when I export the file as pages (which is what the company who is printing it requested) some of the spread overlaps onto the pages like so:

Book Pages.pdf - Adobe Acrobat Pro_2012-05-19_13-53-37.jpg

In InDesign I have the document set up like this with facing pages:

_2012-05-19_13-54-54.jpg

Could anyone help me please? I'm far from an expert using InDesign, thankyou to anyone who is kind enough to help, if you need more screenshots i'll happily put them up.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 19, 2012 6:11 AM   in reply to robandyk

This looks like a problem either with how you set up the bleed, or those are bleed marks and you've omitted the crop marks in the PDF export.

Please show us the Document Setup dialog with the more options button pushed so we can see the bleed and slug fields, and the PDF export dialog marks and bleeds screen.

|
    Mark as:
    May 19, 2012 6:15 AM   in reply to robandyk

Let me add that the more I look at this the more I think it's that you used bleeb marks instead of crops, and that you have an inside bleed set. If that't s the case, what you see is expected -- inside bleed on facing pages is the edge of the opposite page unless you split the spread (see InDesignSecrets » Blog Archive » Breaking Pages Apart to Bleed Off a Spine). This is not a problem unless the printer wants to add creep and expose part of the bleed area for some reason. Omitting the crop marks, though, while not fatal (most RIPs will add them I think) is certainly confusing to anyone looking at the PDF and should be fixed.

|
    Mark as:
    May 19, 2012 6:18 AM   in reply to robandyk

Cross posting.

It is indeed a case of inside bleed and no crops.