Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Forum design is jumpy!

May 20, 2012 9:26 PM

The announcement box at the top of the forum changes size just as I'm about to click on a link to a discussion thread, and the link jumps out from under my cursor. Hello! This is supremely lame. What was wrong with the old design anyway? As a web designer, I curse this lame new design. One would hope that Adobe, with all its resources and skills, could do better. Who wants to spend their time chasing links that run away from the cursor?

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 20, 2012 10:02 PM   in reply to Gary Politzer

Best to post comments about the forum design in the dedicated forum set up to discuss the forum design and behaviour (or lack thereof)

http://forums.adobe.com/community/general/forum_comments

|
    Mark as:
    May 20, 2012 10:57 PM   in reply to Gary Politzer

Gary,

"Jumpy" is one of the kindest epithets I've seen applied to this new "design" since its debut.  

|
    Mark as:
  • Trevor Dennis
    5,844 posts
    May 24, 2010
    May 21, 2012 3:33 AM   in reply to station_two

Could a jumpy cursor be caused by the forum coding?  Sounds more computer specific to me.   Thanks for the forum forum (LOL) link John.  I wonder if there are answers over there, like why if you can still award points, where the heck are they?

|
    Mark as:
  • Noel Carboni
    23,455 posts
    Dec 23, 2006
    May 21, 2012 5:59 AM   in reply to Gary Politzer

Not saying the problem is on your end - lord knows there are plenty of problems with this forum design - but clear your cache.  It's known to mix and match things from new and old versions if you don't.

-Noel

|
    Mark as:
    May 21, 2012 6:49 AM   in reply to Gary Politzer

I'm not observing the same jumpiness but there is some wonky javascript that evaluates mouse clicks.  Whenever I CTRL-click a link to open a new tab, the entire page flashes/jumps in Firefox.