Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Mac Graphics Card Options that Dont Break the bank

May 22, 2012 12:06 PM

Hi, I am upgrading my mapro1,1 to a 4,1 so I can use Premiere frendly graphics cards that suport GPU acceleration.  I am a student and have already spent too mutch so was wondering what a good cheaper graphics card might be.  I have my ete on the Nvida GTX 550 Ti but there does not seem to be a Mac Version.  Maybe I could put it a PC one in as a second card. 

Any advice greatly apreciated.

Ben

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    May 22, 2012 12:22 PM   in reply to funkytwig

There's only three nVidia cards supported on the Mac.  GTX 285, Quadro FX 4800 and Quadro 4000.  But there's also AMD.

Supported AMD graphics cards for GPU acceleration:

• AMD Radeon HD 6750M (only on certain MacBook Pro computers running OS X Lion (10.7.x) with a minimum of 1GB VRAM)

• AMD Radeon HD 6770M (only on certain MacBook Pro computers running OS X Lion (10.7.x) with a minimum of 1GB VRAM)

|
    Mark as:
    May 22, 2012 12:24 PM   in reply to funkytwig

I have a MacPro 4,1 with the GTX 285.  They stopped making it a while back, but you can find them on eBay for only a couple hundred dollars.  This card works great!  (There are some benchmarks that show this card beating out the newer, more expensive cards.)

|
    Mark as:
    May 22, 2012 2:09 PM   in reply to funkytwig

ftwig wrote:

I am a student and have already spent too mutch so was wondering what a good cheaper graphics card might be.  I have my ete on the Nvida GTX 550 Ti but there does not seem to be a Mac Version.  Maybe I could put it a PC one in as a second card. 

There are some interesting options available, but it depends on how much work you want to do and/or how much risk you're interested in taking on.  The assumptions that I'll make is that:

1. you're planning on running the latest Lion (10.7.4) version of OS X, and you don't mind keeping your nVidia drivers up to date