Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

CS5.5 jittery h.264 exports

May 17, 2012 2:37 PM

Tags: #problem #cs5.5 #export #encoding #h264 #motion #jittery

Hello all,

I am new to the pro HD editing world, so please be patient

I have been editing HD video content on Premiere Pro CS5.5 from different sources (XDCAM, AVCHD, etc) on a newly purchased iMac with the following specs:

2.8GHz quad-core Intel Core i7

8 GB memory

1TB storage

AMD Radeon HD 6770M graphics processor with 512MB of GDDR5 memory

My exporting process is to first make an uncompressed Quicktime master (YUV 8 bit 4:2:2), then encode h.264 exports from there. Final delivery is mostly for web streaming.  I am currently only using ONE DISK, the main disk, for all media storage, OS, etc.

OK, so my problem is a consistent one with exporting HD timelines and I need help isolating the possible sources of the problem.

When I export (after making sure all sequence settings were correct and all export settings match) to h.264, it plays overall smooth on my Mac. The worst problems I'll notice is an EVER so slight motion delay here and there, but overall it looks good. When I upload it to Vimeo, or test it on other computers (especially iPads for some reason), the motion looks awful. The transitions and shots with heavy movement are marred by weird horizontal lines at the top third and middle of the screen. Overall, the video looks jittery and just not right.

I can not for the life of me figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'm starting to wonder if there might be a problem with the software, or my hardware. I only use one disk for all media storage, editing and export, but would that cause such export problems? And why does it play better on my Mac than it does anywhere else? It's hard for me to tell what the flaws of my export are until I test it on another device.

Can someone please help me trouble shoot what the various culprits may be?

Many, many thanks all!

Nick

Replies