Skip navigation
pysicsmaster
Currently Being Moderated

Need help with code for adding dates to form

Jun 7, 2012 10:53 PM

Hello forum goers

I'm new to making forms and figured out how to auto add the date, however I need the form to change the date for every copy made.

For example today is 06/08/2012 if I print 10 copies of the form it will output 10 pages ranging from 06/08/2012 to 06/17/2012. If code exists to do this I would be very gratefull to whoever helps, I also wouldn't mind if that is not possible for manually inputing the start / end dates.

Currently I print 15-30 copies of the form and hand write each of the dates but I'm just getting to busy to do that. I also cannot print one a day it must be in batches.

Thanks in advanced.

Replies
  • Thom Parker
    216 posts
    Jul 16, 2003
    Jun 8, 2012 11:23 AM   in reply to pysicsmaster

What you are asking for is more complex than just setting the current date. Each time the form prints it has to know that it has to change the date. I would suggest doing this.

First, setup a document level script to set the date to the current date. I suspect that you have already done this?

Next, Create a "DidPrint" document action to increment the date.  To do this the script will need to scan the current text value of the date, add one day to it, and then reformat it.  You'll find information on this type of scripting in these articles:

http://acrobatusers.com/tutorials/working-with-date-and-time-in-acroba t-javascr
    ipt

http://acrobatusers.com/tutorials/working-with-date-and-time-in-acroba t-javascr
    ipt-part-2

ipt-part-3

Since the increment happenes in the Did Print you will need to print each copy individually. If you enter 10 copies in the print dialog it won't work. You have to print one at a time.  You can automate this activity with a console script.

One of the advantages of incrementing in the DidPrint is that you can also manually enter a date and it will increment from there.

Thom Parker