Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Best files for images

Jun 12, 2012 11:13 PM

Tags: #indesign

Hello Everybody,

I am new to the discussion board as of today.  However, I have a question that I hope someone could answer.  I am starting a new business where I will be using Indesign to create an advertising publication.  My question is, what is the best file to ask my customers to provide me images of their company in?  i.e. company logo and pictures so I can create an advertisement using Indesign.  Do you think a JPEG is best or PDF.  I figure that my clients will probably mostly have PDF files of their images.  In addition, the printing company that I am planning on using is requiring images with a minimum of 300dpi.

Thank you to all who reply to my post, I greatly appreciate your advice. 

Regards,

QntaDesign

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 13, 2012 12:03 AM   in reply to QntaDesign

By the way you are phrasing and qualifying your question in terms of the word image, you are covering more territory than I think you believe.

The proper response to your question is it depends ...

Logos should generally be in a resolution-independent vector format, possibly EPS and preferably PDF where either of those file formats use used to represent a vector or vector and text representation of the logos. What you don't want is some low resolution GIF or JPEG raster image of a logo designed for a certain size at 72dpi on a web page.

In terms of other imagery, the response to your question is also dependent on how the "advertising publication" will be printed or whether it is strictly an on-line publication.