Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Best Camera for Graphic Design

Jun 16, 2012 1:09 AM

Tags: #camera #suggestion

I am a Web Designer and Graphic designer in American Samoa. I am looking at cameras for when local clients want me to do work.

What is the best one to get. I want a professional grade, not some $49 special from Wal-Mart.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 16, 2012 1:24 AM   in reply to icaribou

It’s not that some contributors in this Forum may not be able to give relevant advice, but this question might be a better fit for the photography Forum.

http://forums.adobe.com/community/design_development/photography

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 18, 2012 10:15 AM   in reply to icaribou

If that doesn't help, the Lightroom forum would be great place to pick some photographers brains on the subject:

http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom

regards,

janelle

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 18, 2012 11:31 AM   in reply to icaribou

Short of going full out to a DSLR, i'd suggest a Canon Powershot G12. Great camera, portable and quality files.

However, if you have a fixed budget but do want to go the DSLR route, look at a Canon T2i or 7D with a 35mm lens.

Now if you don't have a budget at all and you are willing to put the time in to learn how to use it properly a Hasselblad H4D-50 or a Phase IQ180 are some of the best camera's that money can buy. The output size and quality is quite amazing.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 18, 2012 3:54 PM   in reply to Brendan Stewart

I will give a +1 to the little Canon. I inherited a G-10 from my wife, when she went smaller still. It has gotten so that I do not use my Hassleblads, or big Nikons, as much as I once did, and hardly ever, if flying out of Phoenix on the regional jets, as none of my cases will fit anywhere, but checked luggage. For 95% of my shots, I do not miss the bigger cameras, or their lens kits. Not sure how the G-13 has improved, but they should be even better.