Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Would it be wise to also use DWCS5 in conjunction with a CMS like Drupal?

Jun 19, 2012 7:32 PM

I've been using DW for many years now... Someone recently told me about CMS software such as Drupal or Joomla, and I want to use it so I son't have to keep coding from scratch (A tedious effort when building sites is a lot of work for not a lot of money)

I don't know anything about CMS's, can a site built from them be as customized (Design, animations, etc.) as they are if you code from scratch with DW?

I have no idea...

Thanks all!

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 19, 2012 8:34 PM   in reply to RuesterProd

Have a look at this demo http://powercms-demo.com/

Gramps

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 19, 2012 8:56 PM   in reply to RuesterProd

A lot of our customers use Perch. It was developed by one of the original Dreamweaver Evangelists (Drew McLellan) and it's a neat little application. It allows you to make regiions of your site editable in CMS-fashion by simply wrapping the region with special tags. It thus enables you to make sites exactly the way you have been since you started using Dreamweaver, without any loss of creativity or control.

http://grabaperch.com/

--

Al Sparber - PVII

http://www.projectseven.com

The Finest Dreamweaver Menus | Galleries | Widgets

Since 1998

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 20, 2012 2:18 AM   in reply to Ben Pleysier

Altruistic Gramps wrote:

Have a look at this demo http://powercms-demo.com/

Gramps

Gramps have you got any first-hand experience with Webassists Power CMS 2? I'm debating whether to take the plunge or not.

I've been messing around with the demo, which is presuamably fairly new, as I have not encountered it before despite visiting on several ocassions when revising which CMS might be suitable. It looks like it comes with a built in application that lets you manipulate images - crop, resize, rotate - is that correct?