Skip navigation
jarlabs
Currently Being Moderated

How to Snap

Jun 19, 2012 9:38 AM

Hi everyone,

I am newbie here.

Can someone please tell me how to snap such as the attached image?

Please notify me by email when there is a reply.

Thank you

Jarlabs

http://s11.postimage.org/eznfpmu83/Adobe_Illustrator.png

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 19, 2012 10:25 AM   in reply to jarlabs

From your screen shot, looks like you want to know how to distort a transformation not snap.

1. Select your object to transform
    2. Select the Free transform tool
    3. Begin to drag the bottom right handle, keep holding down the mouse button
    4. Add shift to constrain angle of drag to interval of 45°, add CMD(or CTRL on PC) key to free transform that corner only
    5. pull then release mouse button when ready

Screen shot 2012-06-19 at 12.21.41 PM.png

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 20, 2012 10:46 AM   in reply to jarlabs

Turn the smart guides on (Ctrl + U) and refer to the image below. In the last step, after you start dragging with the Free Transform tool (E) the lower right point of the transform box, hold Ctrl to engage the free transform.

Untitled-1.jpg

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 20, 2012 10:09 PM   in reply to jarlabs

From the View menu make sure the Smart Guides are checked.

With the Selection tools (black  pointer) click anywhere on the ellipse and try to position it as shown in the first step from my previous message. Drop the ellipse when the Smart Guides say  "intersect" as shown in the image.

Click and drag the bottom left point of the transform box of the ellipse  to the cursor position  shown in the second step. Drop it when the Smart Guides say "anchor"

Pick the Free Transform tool (as shown in the image below), click and drag the bottom right point of the transform box of the ellipse to the cursor position  shown in the third step. Hold Ctrl key before (while) dropping and make sure the Smart Guides say "anchor"