Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Creating actions

Jun 27, 2012 11:04 PM

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 27, 2012 11:04 PM   in reply to Community Help

I am extremely frustrated with action writing in CS6. I cannot paste a selected object in an action! It would work fine in CS5. I open my logo doc, select all, copy and close. Go to my base doc and paste-- NOT AVAILABLE>

So I tried select all first before pasting. When I play the action, it says SELECTION NOT AVAILABLE, but when I continue, it does actually paste and finish the action! Why wont it let me select all OR paste in an action now?

I am an advanced action writer and an adobe influencer and presenter, so I know what im doing, but this has me totally stumped. Thanks for your response! suzette@suzetteallen.com

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 27, 2012 11:13 PM   in reply to SuzetteAllen

I think that's a glitch in cs6 if your using floating document windows.

Does your action work if your documents are tabbed?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 27, 2012 11:50 PM   in reply to SuzetteAllen

Why would you open a file, select, copy (edit: forgot the closing step) and paste instead of simply placing the file?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 28, 2012 12:10 AM   in reply to R_Kelly

Thank you- actually, you are right. My husband sniffed this one out in the meantime  and it plays just fine if in tabs. The workaround we found is to add an action option before the paste to go to Step by step mode, and then paste. Then change it back to accelerated mode. I guess it goes too fast to be able to paste?? That ws his guess. But it works. Either in tabs or with the workaround entry before/after the paste command.

Thanks for the speedy reply!

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 28, 2012 12:14 AM   in reply to SuzetteAllen

Well, I still think your Action probably includes unnecessary steps.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 28, 2012 12:20 AM   in reply to c.pfaffenbichler