Skip navigation
This discussion is locked
Liggliluff
Currently Being Moderated

Expression for which rendering queue number the composition has when rendering

Jul 1, 2012 1:28 PM

I have a Text layer which Source Text should display the number that the composition has when in the Rendering queue. If I put the same composition with this expression 3 times and render it, each results should have the numbers 1, 2 and 3 displayed in the file. I have no idea if this is possible.

Otherwise putting up a variable and raise it each time a rendering has been completed automatically could work too, or actually even better as I can continue from wherever I want and reset it on demand. I have no experience with this at all.

I am using After Effects CS5 and I have some experience with expressions and programming languages in general.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jun 28, 2012 3:30 PM   in reply to Liggliluff

I don't believe any such link to Render Queue items exists in the Expression language.  For a start, a composition can exist multiple times within the Render Queue, so how would such a parameter be returned to the expression?

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 28, 2012 10:00 PM   in reply to Liggliluff

Expressions cannot refer to the render cue. There's no data link. You can use scripting to add a composition to the render cue and pass some data to a text layer in the composition but you can't do it with an expression.

I'd post the question on the Adobe After Effects Scripting forum.

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 29, 2012 3:55 AM   in reply to Liggliluff

As Rick said, only scripts can handle this.

Mylenium

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 29, 2012 8:57 AM   in reply to Mylenium

Google or AE help is your friend here: After Effects Scripting Guide

|
    Mark as:
    Jun 30, 2012 6:46 AM   in reply to Liggliluff