Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

why doesn't my Layers Panel have any info?

Jul 2, 2012 3:30 PM

Tags: #illustrator #help #windows #layer #7 #layers #pallete #layers_pallete #no_information #no_layer_info

Hello:                                                                                                         OS: Windows 7 64 bit

I am quite new to Illustrator and today I am working on a tutorial.

Thus far I have just one Layer. I went to Window > Layer so that the pallete would be open. However, there's no information in it. Only when I move it does the layer info show up.

Am I missing something? I've never had this problem before. All I did was create a New Layer > Drew Circle > added a Gradient and then went to look at the layers pallete but nothing.

Just wondering if I toggled something off by mistake. If so, I have no idea what to do to turn it back on.

Also, I have tried shutting down Illustrator, tried a New File and have shut down my pc but nothing seems to bring back the info in the layers palette

Thank you for your time and effort to help me

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 3, 2012 3:17 AM   in reply to Kar209

Try this

1. Quit Illustrator.
    2. Rename the AIPrefs file (for example, to AIPrefs.old) in the Users/(user)/AppData/Roaming/Adobe/Adobe Illustrator CS# Settings folder.
    3. Start Illustrator. Illustrator creates a new preferences file.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 3, 2012 11:25 PM   in reply to Kar209

I was reluctant to suggest tha you might have a conflict as I have receive a lot of negative reaction to such a suggestion even after it prove to be so without even a hint of a thank you.

I am reluctant t suggest that you might still have a conflict  which is possible. But it is only a suggestion.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 3, 2012 11:34 PM   in reply to Kar209

Can you provide the case number for the suppot call with Adobe.