Skip navigation
Currently Being Moderated

Are my render times normal?

Jul 3, 2012 10:20 PM

I've been editing DV footage with PP for several years. I'm now working on my first couple of HDV projects and want to check whether the astoundingly long render times I'm finding are due to settings errors on my part or are simply what one must expect with HDV rendering.

One project is chroma keying and general cleaning up on a 107-minute .mp4 file, which is requiring an average of approximately 15 minutes render time per minute of video (as opposed to my experience of between one and three minutes per minute with DV footage).

The other project is a three-camera multiscreen shoot, working with HDV .mpeg files, and again rendering seems to be somewhere in the order of 10 minutes per minute of video.

I'm on a nice fast quad core HP Workstation (Windows 7), and have had no major issues with PP over dozens of DV projects.

Can anyone shed any light, please, as to whether I may have some majorly incorrect project settings here or whether this is just a case of "Welcome to the world of HDV"?  Thanks.

Replies
  • Currently Being Moderated
    Jul 4, 2012 3:12 AM   in reply to Aidan Bell

Aidan,

Run the PPBM5 Benchmark test and submit your resutls. That will tell us how well your system performs in comparison to other systems and may show you where to look for improvements.

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 4, 2012 8:18 AM   in reply to Aidan Bell
    I'm on a nice fast quad core

What model?

|
    Mark as:
    Jul 4, 2012 12:24 PM   in reply to Aidan Bell

Aidan,

I have received your submission. It has been added and you are currently at rank # 853, around 25 times slower than a fast PC.

You can find your entry easily by clicking on the Date column twice to sort decendingly and then your entry will be at the top.